Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Making a Level

edited June 2012 in Questions Posts: 68

As I'm a wannabe coder I've coded a lot in Game Maker. As ppl know, making a level in Game Maker is entirely visual based.
So my question is, how do I go about placing dirt blocks/walls and stuff in my game? The example game in Codea didn't get through to me.

I'm assuming there's gonna be a lot of "for loops" and stuff so I'm giving everyone permision to talk to me like I'm a child so as to help me understand better

EDIT: whistle whistle still waiting for a reply :)

Tagged:

Comments

You could create a separate class for the level and the walls. Have you taken a look at the Dungeon Roller example? That's a relatively straight forward example on how to draw walls around the screen.

It didn't seem so straightforward to me @.@
    I've looked at it and wound up more confused

• function World:draw()
        -- Codea does not automatically call this method
        itemDrawn = false
        for y = #self.blocks[1],1,-1 do
            for x = 1,#self.blocks do
                self.blocks[x][y]:draw()
            end 
        end
    Since im not used to LUA syntax, i dont understand for loops yet, but i know he used a for loop on its constructor and draw function(i might be wrong but i think thats pretty much it..)

• edited June 2012 Posts: 68

I'm glad someone responded but I'm afraid I'm even more confused.
    doing a number map has something to do with it, right?

{0,0,0,0,0,0}
    {0,1,1,1,1,0}
    {0,1,1,2,1,0}
    {0,0,0,0,0,0}

-- 0 = Wall
    -- 1 = Grass
    -- 2 = Character

or am I waay off base?
    how does a for loop work exactly? And how does a for loop make my map above into sprite tiles?
    And lastly is this something super basic that I'm not getting? I kinda feel like a retard right now :(