Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

2D Physic game / sandbox with drawing

edited July 2012 in General Posts: 436

Hi, i was working in this prototype:

The source code is here:

https://gist.github.com/3155875

I was wondering if we could use brushes like crayon in stead of solid lines...what do you think?

Tagged:

Comments

• BortelsBortels Mod

That's really neat! I'm gonna grab it and try it now!

blimey - that is very impressive!

I quit

• SimeonSimeon Admin Mod

Looks like a lot of fun. Loved the video.

• edited July 2012 Posts: 436

Hey!, thank you everypeople! :) I'm glad you liked...
    Well, i'm studying all this new physic stuff in Codea, and I missed some things from the original Box2D, I would need a Rope Joint...

For example, for a bridge I am using a for loop that builds n bodies and n-1 DISTANT joints, the first and the last bodies I set them to STATIC , so you have a very good looking wood bridge XD

But for the rope physics...that's another topic!

See:

section 8.13. Rope Joint... if you implement this, you can have a "Countre Jour" like game in a few hours...well, I know the rope joint is a relatively new addition to Box2D, so, you can addapt this code:

Elastic ropes could be used also for fluid dinamycs simulations...
    what do you say people?

@juaxix, are you a genius or what? ^:)^ Great things you make (I'm stuck for the moment trying to figure out how to produce physical bodies from an emitter, like drops from a nozzle for example b-( ). Interesting idea about using elastic ropes for fluid dynamics simulations... I would like to know more about your idea, if possible :-D
    Saludos ~O)

• JohnJohn Admin Mod
    edited July 2012 Posts: 359

@juaxix
    I totally forgot but the ROPE joint should already be in there, I just forgot to document it.

The syntax is:

rope = physics.joint(ROPE, bodyA, bodyB, anchorA, anchorB, length)