Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Initial Setup

edited July 2012 in General Posts: 266

Like having a initial setup for a whole program, is there a way to have initial setup for a gameState using finite state machines. Right now, what is happening is that a physics object is being drawn for the run state but is invisible.The problem here is that I'm using @Reefwing's tutorial and making spheres fall down from the top during the menu state. I only need the physics object (a wall) to be drawn once, so that is why I'm not putting it in the draw function for the actual run state. please help!! I'm new to codea and am getting really frustrated with these sort if things. Sorry if I'm spamming with these questions. :-(

Comments

Why don't you try physics.pause()?
    And if you need a setup for each game state, you should have a function to change from one state to another, so put all your setup code in there.

pausing the physics won't work as it will pause all of the physics. I'm interested in creating a function from changing from once state to another. right now, I'm just using function draw() to change from one state to another and drawing the different states. How do you think I would go about doing this? :-?

How are you using draw() to change states?

How are you using draw() to change states?
    I usually do it like =

function setup()
        STATE_MENU = 1
        STATE_PLAYING = 2
        STATE_PAUSED = 3
        STATES = {
            drawMenu,
            drawGame,
            drawPause
        }
    end

function draw()
        STATES[STATE]()
    end

function drawMenu()
        -- I usually use my own button function to do this, it is basic,
        -- but it automatically runs the function passed to it when
        -- it is called. The syntax is button(x, y, w, h, action) (x, y, w, h
        -- draw a rect with the current rectMode)