Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Two questions

edited October 2012 in Questions Posts: 3

Hi there,
I am new to codea, and I would like to ask two questions.

1. How can I make a wait() or sleep() function, like as delaying?
  2. Why does when I make an interactive draw thingy, does it flash?
    Here is the code for that:

So, what happens is, when I drag on the screen, it makes squares or circles, but they flash, or appear to follow eachother, however, when I record this, they don't flash or follow each other, and are much more stable and smooth.

And also, relating to two, how can I make it where I draw, and as I draw, the shapes leave no gaps?

Comments

1. Nothing like this yet.
    2. Put a background(0, 0, 0) in the beginning of your draw function, this clears the screen every frame.
  • dave1707dave1707 Mod

@YaYa

Your code doesn't show so I can't comment on it. Here is a simple program of a circle following your finger as you drag it on the screen. As for a wait() or sleep() function, what you would use it for would determine how it's written. Normally you really don't need one.

function setup()     displayMode(FULLSCREEN) end function draw()     background(40, 40, 50)     ellipse(CurrentTouch.x,CurrentTouch.y,100,100)     end
  • Jmv38Jmv38 Mod
    edited October 2012 Posts: 3,297

ha ha you fired faster than me Jordan! Yaya you cannot do a sleep, but you can start an action after the given time is elapsed, it is about the same, but a bit more complex to implement. The following code is an example i just wrote for you (and works[edit: just changed the draw, there was a bug i hadn't noticed, cause it was workinf apparently fine):