ETA on 1.5?

edited November 2012 in General Posts: 666

I know it's bad form to ask, but the GLSL stuff sounds exciting...

Is there an ETA on when 1.5 will be released? as we are going into the (American, at least) holiday season, it is realistic to expect something before Dec 25th?

Tagged:
«1

Comments

  • Posts: 688

    I certainly hope so, the new feature list has got me drooling already :)

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,887

    At the moment there's a bit left to do, but I'm quite hopeful that it should be submitted in early December at the latest.

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 2,820

    They've got the big stuff done like shaders. John has made some really cool stuff with it like this:

    If you're really curious, you can look at https://twitter.com/CodeaCommits to see what they are working on. And if you were curious, here's a sneak peak of a new part of the interface:
    http://twolivesleft.com/Codea/Preview/Codea-1.5-Toolbar.jpg

  • BortelsBortels Mod
    Posts: 1,557

    You should follow @TwoLivesLeft - Simeon posts fun Codea stuff. Check this out that @Andrew_Stacey did: - this was recently tweeted by Simeon.

    Those are shaders doing the game of life, mapped to the surface (and background) of a 3D torus. Proper use of shaders can make some graphic operations basically free, as the GPU is doing them rather than the CPU. And Andrew is dominating right now, because, well, math. :-)

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 666

    After reading the shaders I have to ask a Question:

    Can someone create a video of a hallway and Shoot a flaming arrow down the hallway?

    I'd love to see the real-time lighting effects of that in Codea!

  • Long time user and reader of this forum, but only just now registered to be able to tell you guys that there is no words for how utterly awesome you are. I had high hopes for 1.5, and I picked up on the fact you had something cool in the making, but this blew my mind! :)

    I want to take this opportunity to shout out to the crew, and especially @Andrew_Stacey. You have inspired this former desktop-application/database programmer now working as a LINUX-geek, to really learn math and physics. I find myself solving problems now in ways I've never done before regardless of what programming language I'm using. And I've been writing code for almost 20 of my 30+ years.
    Andrew, you should write a book about matrix, vector, trig, and projection related math. It should have the words "Don't Panic" inscribed with big letters on the cover! ;-)
    Cheers!

  • Posts: 2,161

    Thanks.

    I've probably mentioned this before, just in case not here's something I wrote about programming and maths: http://programmers.stackexchange.com/a/137075/48582. And I've started writing about the maths related to Codea, you can find a post at http://loopspace.mathforge.org/discussion/13/matrices-in-codea. I've started one about quaternions but got a bit distracted by the shaders. They're a lot more fun than I thought they would be!

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 666

    Yeah, I thought that's why the quats tutorial wasn't done...

  • Posts: 2,161

    Another shader teaser for y'all:

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 666

    Is Codea still sandboxed in 1.5? can we edit / break out of it and get File IO, specifically WRITE access to the app sandbox/documets folder?

    I really want to get that GIT client working on my machine - or even my "DropBox client" that i'm working on. Backup is good, but without the ability to easily restore, it's not as helpful.

    EDIT: Answering my own question: RTFP:
    saveProjectTab(), readProjectTab() and listProjectTabs() allow you to edit your own projects from code

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,887

    .@aciolino also the IO sandboxing will be removed.

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 666

    BIG CHEERS!!!! :) :O :)

  • edited December 2012 Posts: 666

    CHOMP CHOMP CHOMP...? Still hoping for before Apple Store shutdown...:) ...Cause Early December, at the latest, is here. @Simeon :)

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    edited December 2012 Posts: 4,887

    .@aciolino It's looking like it might not make the App Store shutdown. A few people have suggested removing the Shader Lab (as that is where the most work is left) and submitting it with all the other features, however I'd really like to have it all together for 1.5.

    Edit: That said, there's a few great new features that aren't mentioned in the roadmap. One is completely re-written parameters API for colours, text, buttons, and switches in the sidebar.

  • @Simeon, sounds great! On another feature update - are we likely to see anything new on the audio front in the near future? There's been some workarounds mentioned on here regarding playing raw audio files - but something a bit more user friendly and flexible would be great e.g ability to play and fade an arbitrary audio file in and out with maybe some sort of UI similar to how we currently select Sprites via Dropbox etc.

    Just curious, as this does seem like the 'final icing on the cake' - especially where developing games are concerned - although I suspect this is likely to be way off in the distance.

  • Posts: 666

    My opinion is that if we can get a few samples, then the shader lab isn't as critical. What I see, Codea seems to be working progress anyway. Maybe make an update after December release? Or make it an add-on? I might pay a buck for it...

  • I second aciolino's proposal.

  • I dont mind - as long as its a stable release. Much prefer to have it beta-tested to the max to iron out the bugs rather than rush something out for Xmas IMHO ;-)

  • Posts: 666

    Argh! So there's more fixes than we know, and now we have a big delay! Oh well, I'll just be jealous...

    If the API doesn't allow compilation to Xcode, it's all useless, anyway...please tell me that the Xcode works with the GLSL stuff!

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,887

    .@aciolino there are no issues supporting GLSL through the runtime. Though it might take us a bit of time after the initial 1.5 release to get the Xcode template updated.

    I think the Xcode stuff needs to be re-thought — I'd really like to have it be much easier to use, and much easier to create and share native extensions (such as Game Center support). But like I said, that will be a bit after the release of 1.5.

  • Posts: 666

    Ah, well if its's going to take a bit of time to update the templates, then a delay of the release makes sense - part of my desire to use Codea is to be able to compile apps that I can release without needing the entire Codea app to run them.

  • Posts: 666

    It looks like the Codea Runtime has been updated and that SHADERS are in the code...true?

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,887

    .@aciolino not yet. We have rewritten a fair bit of Codea, so the runtime will need a major update post-1.5.

  • edited December 2012 Posts: 666

    i only ask because I see shader code inside the later runtime I just downloaded. :)

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,887

    .@aciolino Codea has always used shaders internally to render primitives, sprites, and so on (it's required as part of OpenGL ES 2 — you can't do anything without shaders). 1.5 will allow you to write and interact with your own shaders.

  • Posts: 666

    Ping...:)

  • Posts: 10

    I need to use a tweening lib, for the my first project on Codea... I know that 1.5 release will bring this feature implemented. So, will I use one custom approach, or is better to wait for 1.5?... @Simeon (any clue available? ;-) )

  • PhdPhd
    edited January 2013 Posts: 17

    Any more news on when version 1.5 will be released?
    I see a number of people are already using a beta version. I need access to the new BlendMode commands for my current project.
    How could I get added to the Beta Testing list?
    Thanks.

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,887

    .@pcarras @Phd

    There is very little left to do. Most of the work is now in finalising the documentation (and making sure the translated versions are okay), and adding example shaders. As well as bug fixes and some iPad 1 / iOS 5 compatibility checks.

    It doesn't sound like much but it will still take me a while to get through. I'm planning to mark some functionality as "beta" in 1.5 so that I can release earlier and improve it with subsequent updates.

    I would love to add everyone to the beta — but Apple only gives us 100 beta slots.

  • edited January 2013 Posts: 666

    I was pretty impatient, then i realized than until the runtime is updated, I can't really produce any apps for the store.

    It still would be nice to have an approximate timeframe, like Feb 30th :)

    You probably shouldn't say "little left to do" and "a while to get through"...I'd be fine with beta software as long as I know where most of the bodies are buried :)

  • .@pcarras
    Tweening is based on this library, so use its API and you're ready for Codea 1.5:

    https://github.com/kikito/tween.lua

  • PhdPhd
    Posts: 17

    .@Simeon does that mean you have used up all the 100 beta slots?

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,887

    .@pcarras as @Codeslinger says, you can use that. We've added a lot more functionality to it (like loops, callbacks, tweening along bezier paths, and so on), but for the basics it's very similar.

    .@Phd we haven't, but we have another game (Crabitron) that also needs beta testing. So we have to be a bit careful with how many we use up (or we have to wait for a year to free them up again).

    .@aciolino I'm hesitant to give a specific date. You might be fine with beta software, or incomplete docs, but many others would be sure to let me know about them. As soon as I've submitted it to Apple, I'll post here.

  • Posts: 176

    .@Simeon - Crabitron looks really cool! Was it written in Codea, or prototyped in it?

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,887

    .@jlslate Crabitron has actually been in development since before Codea even started. It's taken a long time.

  • Posts: 502

    I'm also eagerly waiting for the runtime, I want to release a fractal program on the app store that I'm coding on my free time. :)

  • Posts: 119

    Not sure if this will be fixed in 1.5. I get funny text truncation or parsing when i have longer files. This happens on the coding screen, not running the app. Somehow the text-wrapping is not working 100%. It happens rarely but is extremely frustrating in trying to debug the code. I have to cut and paste the code segment into a new file.

    The LUA files reads ok on other coder readers like notepad++

  • Posts: 371

    That is fixed

  • Posts: 666

    TLL/beta testers, do we get any type of OpenGL lighting modes in 1.5?

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,887

    This will be available with shaders. OpenGL ES 2.0 doesn't have any of the fixed function lighting functions from 1.0, so you'll have to write your own, but it's completely possible.

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,887

    I'm happy to say Codea 1.5 is now complete.

    We're going to wait until some translators have had a chance to update their localisations before we submit. Also, any major bugs discovered between now and submission time will also have to be fixed. But other than that, it's extremely close.

    Thank you everyone for your patience.

  • No... thank YOU Simeon and the rest of the Codea team, for your dedication and ongoing support for this amazing project and its thriving community. I can't wait to get my hands on it.

  • Posts: 69

    i could not agree more with the_dude thank you Simeon

  • Posts: 666

    This is fantastic news! Can't wait for the first tutorial on sharers...@reefwing or @andrew_stacey, did you already start one? I really need to shoot a flaming arrow down a hallway!

  • Posts: 1,254

    I don't think I'm breaking any NDA when I say you guys are going to be blown away by what some of these guys have accomplished in 1,5. I've been bad beta tester on this round, barely touching the new features, but I've been bowled over by what I've seen from those exploring the new areas.

  • Oh Oh soo excited. Will finish the romanian translation tonight. I am translatin' and salivatin'

  • Done I forgot to say thanks

  • Posts: 688

    Woo hoo - can't wait! :)

  • Posts: 1,185

    Hi All,

    My keyboard has just packed in due the excess drool .....$%£!!!

    Thanks,

    Bri_G

    :O

  • Posts: 80

    This is awesome, I have been lurking here for some time. Learning LUA and Codea. I'm coming from an asction script background. i am getting the framework ready for a simple game. I can't wait to see the new changes

    thwapp

Sign In or Register to comment.