Help Translate Codea Into Your Language

SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
edited February 2013 in General Posts: 4,356

Hi Everyone

Codea is used by a lot of people from all over the world, and it's currently only available in English. I feel that this might be frustrating for some of you — to use an app that is not in your language.

While working on version 1.5 I've taken the time to generate localization strings for every piece of text in the user interface so that it can be translated into other languages.

I'll be organising translations for some languages (Japanese is currently being worked on) but we can't possibly cover every country and every language — if you like Codea, and you want it in your language, you can contribute by visiting the link below.

.

Do you want to see Codea in your language?

If you have the time and inclination, you can contribute to the translation project.

You can start here: http://translate.twolivesleft.com

CrowdIn.net is a crowd-sourced translation tool. You can add translations for phrases and words, and vote on existing translations.

Currently there are three files:

  • Core/Localizable.strings : The main Codea Editor, Project Browser and more
  • Runtime/Localizable.strings : The viewer and sidebar that renders your project, contains only a very small number of strings
  • Codea-Description.txt : The App Store description for Codea. It is necessary to translate this as well, because Apple will not allow us to submit a localized app without a corresponding localized description.

.

What about the documentation?

The documentation is huge. I want to start small with this to see if there is enough interest. If the translation of Codea is something people value, then I will seriously look at how we can get the documentation translated as well.

Edit: It seems like there is enough interest and much of the documentation is now available to be translated at the above link.

.

How will I see my translation?

If you contribute as a translator then I will be happy to add you to the beta group for Codea 1.5, so you can test and use early builds of Codea 1.5 with your translations in-place. You will also be credited on the credits screen for Codea.

.

My language isn't in the list

Post below and I will enable your language for translation.

Feel free to post below to share your thoughts, questions, or anything else.

«13

Comments

  • Posts: 371

    A fantastic idea! I agree with this completely (even though it would make little or no difference to me)! It will expand the user range of Codea, which means more talented programmers, which means more fantastic code! I can't contribute though, don't know any languages that well to translate them.

  • edited February 2014 Posts: 97

    @Simeon can you add Slovak language?

    //What about diacritic? Can we use it?

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    edited November 2012 Posts: 4,356

    .@Cabernet I've added Slovak — it should be in the list now. Thank you for requesting it.

    What is diacritic?

  • "ščľžýáíé" and so on...

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,356

    Yes, you can use them — I wasn't aware of the term for them.

  • Jmv38Jmv38 Mod
    Posts: 3,268

    Would it be possible to choose the langage we want from Codea? I am french, and my experience of translations is that, when it comes to technical things, that have been created and thought of in english, the translations put some confusion in the explanations, and i often prefer to go back to the english text where things are clearer. And most people interested in programming already have to know technical english, anyway... But your intention is good for less educated people, or young people who havent learned english yet. it will help them to jump into codea (and you'll get more customers too).

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,356

    .@Jmv38 I'm not sure — I think all apps will simply use the language you have set in your iPad Settings. However this translation effort is simply for the UI text — not the documentation. The documentation will still be in English (which is where all the technical details are).

  • I like your program very much and I'll help you with Russian translate with great pleasure. But for my work I'd like to get your app for free. Can you afford me that?

  • And for example, after you'll publish new version with Russian localisation, will it be possible to change something in translating?

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    edited November 2012 Posts: 4,356

    Thank you to everyone who has contributed! Four languages in one night — that's really impressive. I'm looking forward to be able to provide Codea in your language.

    .@MRxRadex when a new version is published, the differences between the new and the old will be shown on the translation — so only the new stuff would have to be translated to handle an update.

  • Posts: 436

    Lol just finished with Spanish :)

  • Posts: 72

    Please add Thai language.

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,356

    Thai is added, @sanit. Thanks for the request.

    .@juaxix thank you it look brilliant.

  • So, Russian is here! And firstly I was happy of doing something, that doesn't bring money. Nice system for translation. Good work!

  • Posts: 130

    @Simeon, Add Romanian language. I am from Romania.

    I'll translate the texts from English into Romanian. I am not expert in English, but

    But it's easiest to translate any text from English into my native language, rather than vice versa. :)

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    edited November 2012 Posts: 4,356

    Thank you @Georgian, I've added Romanian to the list.

    Thank you for the Russian translations MRxRadex! Looking forward to putting them into the app.

    I will post some screenshots of how the translations look in Codea.

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 488

    This is an excellent idea. If my mother tongue was not British English, I would help - but perhaps I can help promote this discussion in other parts of the Forum.

    @Simeon, perhaps a discussion title like "Help translate Codea into your language!" would reach a wider audience on the Forum than the current one?

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    edited November 2012 Posts: 4,356

    Thanks for the suggestion, @mpilgrem.

    The response has been amazing, and I love seeing Codea in all these beautiful languages.

    Here's a few examples:

    Español by @juaxix

    http://twolivesleft.com/Codea/Localization/Espanol.png

    Français by @toffer and @ggtr1138

    http://twolivesleft.com/Codea/Localization/Francais.png

  • Posts: 436

    OMG , love it :-)~

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 21

    I have submit some translation for Simplified Chinese.
    thought it shows 96% translated, but I'm sure it's 100% available.

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,356

    Thank you Zenz, I've sent you a message through CrowdIn.

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 21

    Hi, Simeon. I got your email will reply you by email.

  • Posts: 21

    woo~ I can't wait to test it!

  • beebee
    edited November 2012 Posts: 377

    @simeon, please add Bahasa Indonesia. Thank you.

    Update: Sorry, didn't notice it's already there. Just ignore me. :)

  • Posts: 52

    I would like to translate it into chinese simplify.Please add it and I'll start my work.I would also translate the application instruction in the app store if needed.

  • Posts: 52

    Sorry I didn't notice it has already done....

  • Posts: 383

    .@Bee, we need your help to check and correct the translations... :)

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,356

    As @Fred mentioned, @Syeswr, @bee and others: if you have the time and your languages are already translated, please have a quick look at some of the translations and consider voting on them if they are good, or suggesting alternatives if you can think of better.

  • Posts: 52

    After a glance....As a native,current sim Chinese translation is really....crappy..... I'll try my best to make it more beautiful@Simon

  • Posts: 52

    I've just update the simplify chinese translation.
    The are two main problem in previous version.
    Firstly, some proper none are directly translate into chinese according to its meaning.
    For instance,"sprite"into a name of animal rather than a special picture.
    Secondly,some phrases are copied directly from machine translate,which reads not so fluently and beautifully.
    Glad to see Codea in my mother language!
    I also want to translante references if possible.
    @Simon

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,356

    Thank you @Syeswr for improving the translation! I was thinking about adding the reference documentation, but it is very, very big.

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 52

    @Simeon that's ok.What I want to say is I have the interest of translate it as well.

  • Posts: 21

    Hi! Syeswr, your translation for simplified Chinese is much better than mine. great work!

  • Posts: 21

    Dear Simeon, Please use @Syeswr's translation for simplified Chinese, I think his translation can attract more attention.

  • Posts: 52

    Thanks,@Zenz.We have the same goal of building a perfect Codea in Chinese.^O^

  • Posts: 52

    One more question.@Simeon
    I noticed a string called"shader lab"in translation which doesn't exit in current version.So I don't know what it exactly stands for.Is it a demo like physic lab or a browser to creat or test shaders?Please tell me and I would try to give a more accurate translation.Thanks.

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,356

    .@Syeswr It is a browser to create and test shaders. It's a new feature coming in 1.5.

    When you click on the term you should notice a screen shot picture — click on the screenshot and it will show you exactly where the term "Shader Lab" is used.

  • Posts: 52

    .@Simeon.Roger. And the translation has been updated.

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,356

    To everyone who has helped localise: I've just sent a beta version out so you can try out your localisations.

    .@Syeswr I tried sending you a few private messages to get your email address but perhaps you didn't get them — could you send your contact details to me at simeon [at] twolivesleft.com

  • Posts: 371

    Wow. @Simeon, is there a release date for 1.5? I am dying here in the dark. I can't wait for all the features!

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 4,356

    .@Jordan I'd really like to get it out before the holidays. But there's some stuff that definitely needs to be put back in before it's ready (some features have been removed so they can be re-written).

  • Posts: 371

    Well, I can't wait (but I have to!). I really appreciate going above and beyond for all of us who use Codea, you are awesome!

  • Posts: 52

    .@Simeon.Thanks for invitation and I' ve just reply your email

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 436

    I found some texts in the last Codea 1.5 (7) that needs to be translated too.
    Do you need me to post them here?

  • I love this application. I am a Chinese and I have built a forum in chinese for codea. Certainly I want to be the one to translate it to Chinese. May I say, I am in.^_^
    it's my forum for Codea in Chinese.
    http://bbs.codeabb.com

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 5

    who can tell me how to use @. @Simeon Actually we already have an Chinese Codea WiKi on my site.
    http://wiki.codeabb.com
    It's a pity that little people knows it. So far I am the only one try to translate its functions and descriptions into Chinese :-(

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 5

    Happy to know that. @Syeswr @Zenz It seems that you are Chinese, I am wondering if you two guys could help me do some translation. I built an Chinese Codea forum and try to translate Codea's reference documentation into Chinese, but it's hard to do it by myself. I have just translated a few functions. It my Codea WiKi. http://www.codeabb.com/wiki/index.php?title=Codea . Still a lot of work need to be done

  • edited November 2012 Posts: 52

    .@firechecking.Great job!And I'm on reference translation these days.The two Main part "Graphics"and"Lua"have been done(No machine translation).But still need some spell checks.
    I have emailed @Simeon about the documentation translation.And he promise to upload the strings CAN be translated (Something in doc is improtant to doc navi,I think)to crowdin in few days,then I'll submit my work there.

  • Posts: 52

    .@firechecking.So that in the next version of Codea.It may contain a native Chinese Documentation.If possible,please have a look at crowdin and hand in suggestions for my translation there(When Simeon upload it),you could also help translate the other parts.But we'd better have a communication to prevent us from time wasting~

Sign In or Register to comment.