Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

How do I make a touch act like a physics object?

edited July 2013 in Questions Posts: 3

Hi,
I'm new to coding and really enjoying learning, the forum is a great help. I'm trying to make a simple game where you push balls around with your finger and give them momentum. I have tried putting an physics.body on current.touch values but it does not have any velocity to transfer to the ball when there is a collision.
What I want is for the balls to get knocked away as you drag your finger into them.
Thanks,

Tagged:

Comments

• IgnatzIgnatz Mod
    edited July 2013 Posts: 5,396

@Iceaxe - It's a little difficult to figure out the exact problem without seeing some code.

(If you post code, put three of these ~ before AND also after the code, to format it correctly).

This is not the best method but it should work out. Just set linearVelocity to the body equal to vec2(touch.deltaX,touch.deltaY). It will make the body vibrate if you just hold it but it should work out. Like so:-

function setup()
        p=physics.body(CIRCLE,30)
        p.mass=1
        p.gravityScale=0
        p.linearDamping=2
        p.sleepingAllowed=false
        p.x,p.y=WIDTH/2,HEIGHT/2
        t={}
    end

function draw()
        background(255, 255, 255, 255)

if p.x>WIDTH then p.x=0
        elseif p.x<0 then p.x=WIDTH end
        if p.y>HEIGHT then p.y=0
        elseif p.y<0 then p.y=HEIGHT end

fill(0, 0, 0, 255)
        ellipse(p.x,p.y,60)

for k,v in pairs(t) do
            fill(255, 0, 0, 255)
            ellipse(v.x,v.y,20)
        end
    end

function touched(touch)
        if touch.state==BEGAN then
            t[#t+1]=physics.body(CIRCLE,10)
            t[#t].info=touch.id
            t[#t].mass=10
            t[#t].gravityScale=0
            t[#t].sleepingAllowed=false
            t[#t].x=touch.x
            t[#t].y=touch.y
        elseif touch.state==MOVING then