Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

My Codea Suggestions Page

Comments

• I'm partial to the southern east coast beach US build of that. The rich crosssection of syntax as
    in "y'all dewds" is unmatched elsewhere. I still use the pure southern build for obfuscation as in "a couple three" which loosely translates into a few or some.

dofile("HumptyDumpty.lua")

print(meaning("brillig"))

Result:

Four o'clock in the afternoon, the time when you begin broiling things for dinner.

• edited December 2011 Posts: 273

@jlslate I must say that English is my favorite language too!

I'm not a programmer but occasionally, more out of curiosity and dilettantism than anything else, I've dabbled with (in historical order): hypercard, scheme, smalltalk, quartz composer, and now lua.

I like the idea of graphic programming languages. I'm currently fooling around with a Codea made interpreter for programming with colors rather than words...

(A way of making friends with image.get() and image.set())

• Hm, i like German best. Its the First One ive learned ;)

I started coding with Ectended BASIC on a TI 99/4, moved to assembly, UCSD Pascal, and then spent a decade working variants of Pascal and C. Wrote Mac programs in 1984 in C, and i can tell you that while it was a blast, i do not miss the pointers, handles, pointers to pointers, pointers to handles, etc.

Turbo Pascal and its follow on, Delphi, took me through a decade of PC programming, with an interlude of VB (you have to make a living), then moved to Java when the web paradigm came on strong. Never did any perl. Have done some Ruby, and in the past a little Forth and even Prolog.

@jlslate - You might try LiveCode. I love it. My first language was Spanish.

• BortelsBortels Mod

Turbo pascal (3.0) rocked. It rocks to this day. I wrote my first "significant" code in turbo pascal.

I want turbopascaldea!