Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Long strings in the Text Function

edited November 2013 in Questions Posts: 23

Hello I am working on parsing responses from the web.
I would like to display the response string on screen,
I have found the text wrap function
textWrapWidth(object.size[x])
which is beautiful and saves some work...
how ever my pitfall is that it seems codea's native text function will not support strings longer then 290 chars
I have been using str = string.sub(str, 1, 250) to try and limit to see what i can work with...
I would really enjoy not having to create some sort of functions that would break the large string up and display it in multiple text funcs.. calculating position of each one... So does any one know of any solutions to display large strings... mainly JSON responses or raw HTML to be parsed...

Comments

  • edited November 2013 Posts: 57

    Can you post an example showing the issue, please?. I just copied and pasted a random text of 1750 characters and I had no issue displaying it after setting the text wrap width.

  • Posts: 1,595

    I can get longer than 290 chars, about 2000 chars in one text function, it works, it cqn just get really slow

  • edited November 2013 Posts: 23

    Here is an example... I have gotten it up to 4000chars but i would like to display an entire text so i could scroll through...

    http://pastebin.com/SWGaLjMn

  • dave1707dave1707 Mod
    edited November 2013 Posts: 7,523

    @Ruttyj Try this. I took out a lot of code just to keep this small. I added comments where I added or changed code. I also added comments where code needs to be modified to make it work for any length of data. I dont have time right now to fix it the right way, but I'll let you work on it. Just slide your finger up or down the screen to scroll.

    EDIT: Corrected code.


    --displayMode(FULLSCREEN) function setup()     tab={}     dy=0    -- added     x = 1      y = 2        str = nil     url = "http://data.gc.ca/data/en/api/action/package_show?id=aba94801-fd1c-4897-a24f-64d4381c504a"     http.request(url, handelResponse ) end function handelResponse( data, status, headers )     -- code added     str=data     len=string.len(str)     s=1     add=math.min(4000,len)     while true do         table.insert(tab,string.sub(str,s,s+add))         if s+add+1>len then             break         else             s=s+add+1         end     end end function draw()     background(40, 40, 50)     if str ~= nil then         if displayed == nil then displayed = true   --only show once             print("------------------------------")             print("type", type(str))             print("length", str.len(str))             print("------------------------------")             print(str)         end     end         textWrapWidth(WIDTH*0.9)     textMode(CORNER)     textAlign(LEFT)          -- code added     h1=0     if str ~= nil then         for z=#tab,1,-1 do             text(tab[z],5,h1+dy)             w,h=textSize(tab[z])             h1=h1+h         end     else         text("-- NO DATA --", WIDTH/2, HEIGHT/2)     end end function touched(t)    -- code added to scroll the screen     dy=dy+t.deltaY end
  • dave1707dave1707 Mod
    Posts: 7,523

    @Ruttyj I modified the above code. I think it will work for any length of data.

  • edited December 2013 Posts: 23

    mhmmm :) very nice touch with the scroll.. at least now its displaying the full text... just gotta work on finding out where the string the textWrap breaks the lines so we can patch up two lines so it dosen't break mid-word

    would have to find the line height and the width of the last wraped line where the break occurs so it could be on the same line and correct x offset... the remainding width would have to be cliped from the block so they match up

    --referring above ------------------------------------

    so if "be on the same line and correct x off" was the last line of the old string

    find the width of this string - the wrapWidth = amount of next string to bridge

    find exacly where to clip that string then append text("set... the remainding width would have to be cliped from the block ")
    to the same line


    anyways plenty of fun to be had... might even be able to load in a lua script and do the colored syntax highlighting (each colored block of text would have to fit together nicely)...

  • dave1707dave1707 Mod
    edited December 2013 Posts: 7,523

    @Ruttyj I'm not sure what you're using this for, but patching up the different groups might not be that easy. One thing might be to determine how much room you have on the end of the first group, remove that much out of the second group and append it to the end of the first group. Do that with each group. One thing I noticed with this is if you change the font, then the amount of characters that can be displayed with the text command will change. If you ever have text that isn't displaying, try reducing the amount of characters per table entry. I lowered it to 4000 characters because it wasn't displaying a group when I tried increasing the number of characters in data.

    EDIT: The character also determines how many can be displayed. The letter "i" takes up less space than the letter "w". It seems like "text" can only show a certain width and height.

  • dave1707dave1707 Mod
    Posts: 7,523

    @Ruttyj On my iPad 1, it appears that the height of the text can't exceed 2048 pixels. In other words, if I have a string with a lot of characters in it, if I do a w,h=textSize(string) and 'h' is larger than 2048, it won't display anything. The size of 'h' will depend on the characters being displayed and the width of the display (textWrapWidth). Using the default font, the width of each character varies, and 'i' takes less width than a 'w'.

  • dave1707dave1707 Mod
    edited December 2013 Posts: 7,523

    @Ruttyj Here's a version that you don't have to do anything with. I skipped the table and everything is in a string. The scrolling isn't smooth, but that's because of the data being displayed and the way I scroll. Again, move your finger up/down the screen.


    displayMode(FULLSCREEN) function setup()     textMode(CORNER)     textWrapWidth(WIDTH)     dy=1     str=""     url = "http://data.gc.ca/data/en/api/action/package_show?id=aba94801-fd1c-4897-a24f-64d4381c504a"     http.request(url, handelResponse ) end function handelResponse( data, status, headers )     str=data end function draw()     background(40, 40, 50)     fill(255)     if str~="" then         str1=string.sub(str,dy,dy+5200)         w,h=textSize(str1)         text(str1,0,HEIGHT-h)     else         text("No Data",WIDTH/2,HEIGHT/2)     end end function touched(t)     dy=dy+t.deltaY*5     if dy<1 then         dy=1     end end
Sign In or Register to comment.