Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Codea 2.0 Beta

Comments

@JakAttak - I think he's doing something with meta tables to return a function when you call it, but I'm not quite sure. Don't take my word of that. I don't have my iPad, so I can't go digging.
    Another thing you might try is setting a hook on the "music" function.

I won't even pretend to know how meta tables work :P

• IgnatzIgnatz Mod

@JakAttak - I'm no expert either, but here is a basic explanation

http://coolcodea.wordpress.com/2013/07/21/96-meta-what-metatables-explained/

• edited January 2014 Posts: 2,043

@Ignatz, thanks. After some googling and guess and check I figured out that it is the metatables __call function that is being called and so I came up with this:

local _mt = getmetatable(music)
    local _music = _mt.__call

_mt.__call = function(a, track, ...)
        print("Playing track:", track)
        currentMusic = track
        _music(a, track, ...)
    end

setmetatable(music, _mt)

Seems to work.

Haha. My guess was a shot in the dark. Glad it worked. :)

The key stroke Command-Alt-Up or down is not working.
    Thanks!

• SimeonSimeon Admin Mod

@Zoyt what is Cmd+Alt+Up/Down supposed to do?

@Simeon - Whoops! I meant Shift+Alt+Up and down to move the cursor one line above in the save position on the X axis. Sorry.

• SimeonSimeon Admin Mod

Shouldn't the cursor preserver the X position when you just use up and down (unless the line length differs)?

I am trying this key combination on TextEdit (Mac) and it appears to do nothing.

@Simeon - It behaves a bit differently, but on the Mac, it selects the line above like this:
    https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/91357336/Forum Misc/TextEditShiftAltArrow.mov
    Thanks!

Not sure if this is a bug or not, but I was under the impression that if a touch went off the screen, it's state would be CANCELLED. I'm not seeing that happen.

• SimeonSimeon Admin Mod