Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

angularVelocity bug ?

edited January 2014 in Questions Posts: 10

Hi all,

I'm new to Codea and was trying to code a simple pool game to learn physics, but when a ball touches an edge, its angular velocity gets very high without any reason... Is it a bug in Codea physics engine or did I code something wrong ? Here is my code :

displayMode(FULLSCREEN)

function setup()

strokeWidth(2)
    stroke(0)
    noFill()
    ellipseMode(CENTER)

top = physics.body(EDGE, vec2(0, HEIGHT), vec2(WIDTH, HEIGHT))
    bottom = physics.body(EDGE, vec2(0, 0), vec2(WIDTH, 0))
    left = physics.body(EDGE, vec2(0, 0), vec2(0, HEIGHT))
    right = physics.body(EDGE, vec2(WIDTH, 0), vec2(WIDTH, HEIGHT))

ball = physics.body(CIRCLE, 40)
    ball.position = vec2(WIDTH/2, HEIGHT/2)
    ball.linearVelocity = vec2(200, 200)
    ball.restitution = 0.8
    ball.friction = 1

--physics.gravity(0, 0)
    ball.gravityScale = 0

end

function draw()

background(128)
    ellipse(ball.x, ball.y, 80)
    line(ball.x, ball.y, ball.x + 38 * math.cos(ball.angle), ball.y + 38 * math.sin(ball.angle))

end

I draw a line in the circle to see angular velocity, and the ball rotates quickly when touching edges.
Any help would be appreciated :-)

Tagged:

Comments

• The friction is at an very high level for the circle. It should be closer to 0.0001, not 1!

Also, you have no form of angular drag, so it'll never slow down after spinning,

• dave1707dave1707 Mod

@logoliv Here's an example I pulled out of my projects that shows angular rotation. The bounce with rotation looks realistic, so I don't think there's a problem with the physics engine. Also, this doesn't change the default friction value.