Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

High level API for gesture and keyboard input

beebee
edited February 2012 in Suggestions Posts: 381

I've requested this, but I request this again. Just as a reminder. Hopefully 2LL will consider this requested feature -seriously- for v1.4. :)

First of all, I'd like to congratulate and thank 2LL for the release of v1.3. It's all great! Especially for the text API and the physics engine (though this one need more features). I haven't playing with them by myself due the high load of my work, but from the given demoes/examples I know they're all great. :)

Second of all, it's about what I use Codea for. I mainly use Codea for code prototyping and brainstorming. Both for myself or my team. I'm not a visual programmer, so I'm not using Codea quite often. But when I need to do it (visual coding), I'll use Codea definitely.

For that use case, I prefer high level and ready-to-use APIs. I know how to use the given APIs, including the ones I considered as low level. But this low level codes distract the important codes. For example, code to detect gestures. It requires some 20 LOC spread here and there just to be able to detect a two fingers pinch. It also happen to detect keyboard input, though to a lesser extend.

What I expect is a much simpler function or class for common gestures detection and keyboard input. I expect gesture can be handled like the touch class, that automatically detected by using touched() function, with all the important informations (state, position, delta, etc) already there ready to be queried. I expect gestures (also keyboard events) can be detected using similar mechanism. This way I can focus more on the idea, not on how to code the idea. ;)