Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

A deck of standard playing cards.

As a newbie I've looked around to find sprites/images for a standard deck of playing cards. No success not even a sprite for a single 'heart' , 'club', 'diamond' or 'spade' . There are so many uses for playing cards I can not understand why this should be.
Is there something that I am missing ?

Comments

• Not only is this doable within Codea, the amazing Ignatz already did a tutorial on it ... https://coolcodea.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/39-working-with-playing-cards/

• edited February 2015 Posts: 1,595

Edit: Ninja'd by epicurus. Check out opengameart for sprites as that's all free.

• A simple google search for "Playing Card Sprite Sheet" will do the trick; here is a
    Good one http://jgauthie.imgd.ca/IMG-250/memory_game/images/deck.png

• Jmv38Jmv38 Mod

you can use these unicode characters and sprite them with size and position you want 

Thanks chaps. Epicurus has given me the link I wanted. It looks as though Ignatz is going to take playing cards a bit further. As a newbie there is a lot to go at with what he has done so far.
    It points to another issue with regard to source of knowledge.
    As a newbie I tend to stick within the Codea App in my search for info. I must say that CoolCodea seems to be an excellent site and I must remember to search it with regard to any question I have.
    Thanks again. - Steep.

• If you deny yourself coolcodea, you really would be missing out. If I've done anything to change your mind it's a good day's work! Codea's impossible to learn for coding newbies just from the reference.

• Jmv38Jmv38 Mod
    edited February 2015 Posts: 3,295

Codea is Codea AND this forum! That is what makes it so special.

You can actually use Emojis and text() to draw icons for cards. Here's the ones you would need: ♠️(spade) ♥️ (heart) ♣️ (club) and ♦️ (diamond), they're found under "symbols"