Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

FYI: You can now install your Codea apps onto iPhones etc without a paid dev account

edited September 2015 in Suggestions Posts: 2,020

EDIT: Do not update to Xcode 7 if you intend to publish to the App Store until this issue has been fixed. Make sure background application updating is switched off on your Mac.

You need a Mac, XCode 7 (which up until a week or so ago was only available as a beta to people with paid developer accounts), and a free developer account.

I just put one of my Codea projects onto my iPhone and it worked great.

I had to turn off "enable bitcode" as described here: http://codea.io/talk/discussion/6874/solved-problems-with-xcode#latest

Give it a go, it's a great feeling.

Tagged:

Comments

  • edited September 2015 Posts: 211

    @yojimbo2000 one more information:

    If you are using something like openUrl, Xcode will warn that http is not security. So, you need to do this:

    Info tab -> Add the key App Transport Security Settings, type Dictionary -> key Allow Arbitrary Loads, type Boolean, value YES

  • Posts: 2,020

    Thanks for the tip @erickyamato

    I've noticed that in iOS9, the first time you use openURL for app switching, it gives you a warning dialog. It seems to remember your response though, because each subsequent openURL executes without the warning.

  • Posts: 2,020

    You can't submit to the App Store (of course) with a free account, but also it seems you cannot perform the pre-submission validation checks with a free account. So it's possible that your app could run fine on the iPhone, but still not meet submission requirements (I think).

  • @yojimbo2000, you cn't submit because you need have a certified (.p12) and another stuffs.

  • you are quite right @yojimbo2000! :(

  • @yojimbo2000 do you have any idea if you can publish it to your own iOS 8 device or does it have to be an iOS 9 device?

  • Posts: 2,020

    That's a very good question. Both of my devices are iOS 9 now so I can't check I'm afraid.

  • ok, thx anyways, I hope someone else figures this out soon tho, would be nice to know

  • Posts: 2,020

    Do not update to Xcode 7 if you intend to publish to the App Store until this issue has been fixed. Make sure background application updating is switched off on your Mac.

Sign In or Register to comment.