Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Codea 1.3.1 is approved!

SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
edited February 2012 in General Posts: 5,387

There are quite a few visual changes with this release. As well as the groundwork laid for the upcoming retina iPad 3 and future features.

Let me know what you think in this thread.

Tagged:

Comments

  • edited February 2012 Posts: 2,820

    Yay! I'm getting an iPad 3. Glad the copying to clipboard got by... :-D
    Sorru for posting the other one thanking you before you posted. Thought you might not... NVM.
    Update - Sometime or another, you might want to change your videos and screenshots.

  • Posts: 118

    Nice! One small error in the manual entry for saveProjectInfo though. It states "... with 'description' as the key." instead of "... with 'Description' as the key.".

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    Also note that you can now copy your entire project to clipboard by touch-holding it and choosing "Copy" — this should make it easier to share with others.

    @Zoyt mentioned this but I thought I'd clarify.

  • Posts: 118

    There seems to be an issue when backgrounding the app. When using the 4 tap sweep up gesture, Codea crashes :-(

    I tried restarting the iPad, and limiting to running a new 'Hello World' program, get out to the main menu, and perform the gesture. Codea was bricked :-( Tried removing it from the task list, and it crashes again after restarting (which it always does after a crash), then restarting again, repeating the steps again, and again it crashes :-( Looks like major bug!

  • Posts: 118

    @Simeon When pasting the copied source in a newly created project, didn't you mention earlier something about automatically recreating the tabs as well?

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    @Herwig I can't recreate that with the four-finger-sweep (or double-tap home button). Does it always happen? I tried in the project browser, viewer and code editor and was always able to resume. Can anyone else re-create this?

    Regarding pasting, we want to put that in and believe it doesn't go against policy, but we're taking it one step at a time.

  • NatNat
    edited February 2012 Posts: 143

    Great stuff.

    My only disappointment is that issue 109 (Errors in collide callback are not reported)hasn't been addressed. It's causing me a lot of hassle in apps that use the physics engine.

    Any idea when a fix will be available?

  • Posts: 118

    @Simeon yes it happens all the time. All I have to do is start Codea, go in a project, go back to the menu and do the four finger sweep (or the double tap home button). Could it be related to the use of saveProjectInfo ? I used it on a couple of projects of mine (setting both "Description" and "Author") and I noticed the description didn't show right away (needed some horizontal scrolling to other projects and back). The first crash happened right after that! Might be a coincidence, but still...

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    @Herwig did you initially save under "description" (lower-case d) as the docs incorrectly mentioned? That may have overwritten "Description" but then fail to load the description, causing a crash. I would suggest having a look in iExplorer to see — sorry about the bug in the docs!

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    @Nat sorry! I forgot to address that one. Next update will solve it, I know what causes the issue and it's easy to fix.

  • Posts: 118

    @Simeon Yes I used 'description' first. I'll have a look with iExplorer tomorrow...

  • Posts: 2,820

    So you mentioned that you might make an automatic class tag generator... For copying to the clipboard, maybe eventually have Codea test for the line var = class(). Then it's not striking apple as project import. Not meaning to rush you.
    For unidentified crashes, try posting the crash log (somewhere else... it's too long usually) found under Settings>General>About>Diagnostics & Usage>Diagnostics & Usage Data and then go under one with the latest date and with the name Codea. For instance, Codea-2012-02-23-21-13-56_.... I manage to crash apps a lot on even my iPad 2, so I would know. Just copy it all and paste it. It sometimes helps the developers and sometimes I can decode it.

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    @Herwig if you could send the crash log, as @Zoyt suggest, it would be most helpful.

  • beebee
    Posts: 381

    Just got a chance to update my Codea. Playing with it for a while. Like the new app setting. Hoping more app setting options in the next update. Will write a new post about this.

    Then I purchased the dark theme. Nice! It would be great for on bed night coding. :)

    Overall, a nice update. Thank you, 2LL. :)

  • Posts: 146

    Very nice, looking forward to playing with the new stuff.

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    Thanks @bee! Glad you like it. The settings panel is definitely there for future use — managing your custom sprites is the big one I'd like to use it for.

  • I just bought the new editor theme :) love it :D

  • Yea me too, new theme is great. Another great update, thanks again.

  • Posts: 37

    Hello Dark Theme! Very pleasing on the eye. Well done guys :)

  • Posts: 118

    @Simeon I replicated the problem on my iPad 1. I had an almost clean install on it. All I had to do to get it crashing was to add a saveProjectInfo to a new project with the correct "Description" key, and run it once. I couldn't get the crashing to stop, even by removing the project. In the end I removed Codea and reinstalled it. I'm dreading doing that on my fully loaded Codea on my iPad 2!

    Here is the crash log from the iPad 1:

    Incident Identifier: 77344EDA-0190-4BF2-A65C-9E007E70B907
    CrashReporter Key: c762ea62d95b57b0c89f1d1556772875cb2b1eeb
    Hardware Model: iPad1,1
    Process: Codea [29138]
    Path: /var/mobile/Applications/148E012B-A82F-4427-9B84-8DF14D7AB1E9/Codea.app/Codea
    Identifier: Codea
    Version: ??? (???)
    Code Type: ARM (Native)
    Parent Process: launchd [1]
    
    Date/Time: 2012-02-29 11:02:42.491 +0100
    OS Version: iPhone OS 5.0.1 (9A405)
    Report Version: 104
    
    Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
    Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0xd004a39b
    Crashed Thread: 0
    
    Thread 0 name: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
    Thread 0 Crashed:
    0 libobjc.A.dylib 0x35333fbc 0x35330000 + 16316
    1 Codea 0x000f3206 0xf0000 + 12806
    2 UIKit 0x34cb95ee 0x34c87000 + 206318
    3 UIKit 0x34c8a95a 0x34c87000 + 14682
    4 UIKit 0x34c8a3b8 0x34c87000 + 13240
    5 UIKit 0x34c89d26 0x34c87000 + 11558
    6 GraphicsServices 0x357b4dec 0x357b0000 + 19948
    7 CoreFoundation 0x33bf154c 0x33b64000 + 578892
    8 CoreFoundation 0x33bf14ee 0x33b64000 + 578798
    9 CoreFoundation 0x33bf033c 0x33b64000 + 574268
    10 CoreFoundation 0x33b734d6 0x33b64000 + 62678
    11 CoreFoundation 0x33b7339e 0x33b64000 + 62366
    12 GraphicsServices 0x357b3fc6 0x357b0000 + 16326
    13 UIKit 0x34cb873c 0x34c87000 + 202556
    14 Codea 0x000f2880 0xf0000 + 10368
    15 Codea 0x000f2840 0xf0000 + 10304
    
    
  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    Thank you Herwig — could you email me the actual crashlog file? simeon [at] twolivesleft.com

  • Posts: 2,820

    I think you have to go into Xcode and go under device manager to send a file though. Just trying to limit confusion.

  • edited March 2012 Posts: 196

    @Simeon - Hey there, love the black theme. Great addition and very relaxing for the eyes ;)
    I'm here to whine though, as I'm having a few glitches on Codea 1.3.1 :P

    Basically, from time to time, when deleting selected code, the focus goes away (as in, no cursor left on the page), so If i press delete again it will jump to the end of the code, and start deleting whatever is there. It's very very (very) frustrating hehe :)

    I'm having a few random crashes when switching tabs or stopping the execution of a program after using codea for a few hours. Restarting the app buys me a few more :P

    I had a few crashes when trying to buy the black theme/backgrounds, but it was fixed on restarting the device. However, I noticed that you cannot go back to the original background, or ever just not use any background at all.

    Keep up the great work !

    Cheers,

    Xavier

  • Posts: 159

    @Xavier I've had your deleting issue as well. I've triggered it when selecting and then deleting a method call parameter.

    • Double-tap to select parameter
    • Backspace once to delete parameter
    • Backspace again to delete space
    • Cursor jumps to the bottom of the document

    Doesn't happen every time in every file, but I have had it happen quite a lot.

  • Posts: 2,161

    So it's not just me!

    I assumed that I'd been accidentally tapping the code near the bottom and resolved not to be so thick-fingered in future.

  • Posts: 196

    hehe yeah that's it ) I can't remember the amount of "ends" i deleted :P

  • Posts: 118

    I noticed it too when keeping the delete pressed to delete a bunch of stuff, and it suddenly started deleting stuff at the end of the file!

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    @Xavier do you mean the original blue background from 1.3 and earlier? If so then yes, I had to remove it as it doesn't scale up to retina iPad resolution (1536x2048). The new backgrounds scale up to this resolution.

    Thanks for letting me know about the delete bug. So you just hold the delete button to continuously delete, and at some point it will start deleting from the end? Will look into it. Thanks for the reproduction steps, @frosty.

    I think some of the crashes could be due to the threaded autocomplete builder. I'm looking into this with @Dylan.

  • edited March 2012 Posts: 176

    Ok - First I would like to comment that I had assumed that the new settings were going to be on the all app settings page (settings/apps area) so it took me a few minutes to find it. No issue, just confusion on my part.
    Second, I bought the the dark theme to help support 2LL, and have found that it is so much easier to focus on the task at hand, and its so much easier onthe eyes, and easier to see different commands (variables, constants, etc.) that it makpe me much more productive. Thanks!

    Jim

    But not apparently a better speller........

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    Glad you like it, @jlslate! Thanks for the feedback. Hopefully we can make the dark theme come with a dark keyboard some time in the future as well.

  • Posts: 2,820

    FYI - A ton of the backgrounds don't work and give me a blue background.

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    @Zoyt it sounds like they aren't downloading — are you on a stable WiFi connection? Or perhaps the Two Lives Left server wasn't responding, I'll look into it.

    Once they download they should save locally from that point on.

  • Posts: 2,820

    Oh... I didn't know I needed Internet connection, but I understand why you did it due to hacking. Works now! Thanks!

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    Not at all due to hacking, @Zoyt. It's actually to keep the size of Codea small (it's about ~10 MB at the moment). Codea's size blows up as follows when adding the backgrounds:

    • 40 MB with all iPad backgrounds
    • 81 MB with all iPad + iPad 3/Retina backgrounds

    I didn't want to waste all that size on just background images.

  • Posts: 2,820

    Oh... (Holly crap that's large images!) I agree.

  • edited March 2012 Posts: 196

    @Simeon - @Frosty - Not sure if this was mentioned before. Found the way to reproduce the bug 100% of the time.

    Double tap to select a word, then delete.
    If there is a space before, it will glitch and remove the cursor. If not, it works fine.

    Double tapping "value" and pressing delete will glitch

    t = { value=nil }
    

    Double tapping "value" and pressing delete will work fine

    t = {value=nil }
    

    During testing Codea crashed twice, but this might not be linked

    Cheers,

    Xavier

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    Thank you @Xavier, that's very helpful! Will sort this out.

  • Posts: 2,820

    Just because I wanted to and I love Codea so much, I quickly created this little animation right here.
    Hope you like it!

  • SimeonSimeon Admin Mod
    Posts: 5,387

    Thanks, @Zoyt!

  • Posts: 2,820

    About the backgrounds, I just read that Apple bumped up the download limit to 50 megabits. And also, good job on updating the graphics early.
    Thanks!

  • Posts: 2,820

    Just curiouse, why did you drop the price to $2.99 and raise it to $9.99 (which is closer to what Codea is worth)?

  • Posts: 159

    @Zoyt I think the $2.99 sale was due to the GDC (Game Developers Conference) taking place this last week.

  • Posts: 2,820

    Ah.

Sign In or Register to comment.