Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

An assortment of questions.

edited May 2016 in Questions Posts: 110

Hi all,
I'm a beginner, so don't judge.
I want to use the touched() function for a character to be moved. However, when the finger is on the screen, but not moving the touched function is not called. Is there an easy way to fix this?
Thanks.

Tagged:

Comments

if touch.state ~= ENDED then
        --move player code
    end

@MattthewLXXIII Here you go! Just create a variable like tch that saves the data from your touched() function. Then you can use that variable in draw()

function setup()
        tch = nil
    end

function draw()
        background(40, 40, 50)
        strokeWidth(5)

if tch then 
            ellipse(tch.x,tch.y,100) 
            -- Add the rest of your code here
        end
    end

function touched(touch)
        if touch.state == ENDED then
            tch = nil
        else
            tch = touch
        end
    end

• Thanks guys!
    What is ~=?
    Is there a way I can change the title to ask a different question?

• dave1707dave1707 Mod

The ~= is not equal. Just ask your new question here.

• What is != then?
    Is there a way to receive input from a bluetooth keyboard?
    Thanks.

• dave1707dave1707 Mod

!= is also not equal, but not in Lua.

• Ah, ok.
    Do you know the answer to my second question?

• IgnatzIgnatz Mod

Search this forum

• Fair enough, thank you.
    How do you access the y value on the unpack?

• IgnatzIgnatz Mod

This forum isn't a substitute for reading the reference material on Lua and Codea.

It's fair enough to ask if you get stuck, but asking what ~= means, or about the different states of the touched function, or how unpack works, is wasting our time because they are explained in the Codea reference or in the Lua manual. If you don't understand the explanations there, ask, but please read them first.